The Wanderer Returns

Warning, this post will be a ramble with which I try to come to terms with the experience I just had in New Zealand after which I will go through and explain the past two weeks in as much detail as possible both so you can know what I did and because I never ever want to forget the people or places from this trip. You will most likely not understand this rambling but I will clear everything up over the next few days.

Hello everyone. This post is being written in a Queenstown hostel by a very confused wanderer who just had two of the most amazing weeks of his life with people who he became incredibly close to and just a few short hours ago had to walk down the street as the bus drove past. I know that the feeling of leaving comes with the territory when you travel but I was unprepared for how intense of an emotional experience the tour was going to be. Never would I have guessed that I would become so close to so many people, particularly Alex, Andy, Claire, and Rachel. Despite there being over a decade between me and the rest of them they still became my best friends on the trip and it was so hard to walk down the street while they all walked back onto the bus. I knew that I was going to have a certain few who I would become closer with than the rest of the bus but never to this extent. It is truly amazing what mutual experience will do to people. That and having to see them day in and day out for two weeks in a confined space in a wide variety of situations really expedites the process of getting to know someone.

When I first got to Australia I was slightly scared and very intimidated about being in a new place by myself. I used the fact that I was leaving for this trip as an excuse to not put myself out there. This trip completely ended that. By the time a week had gone by I felt completely comfortable and natural in and around the tour. I had an amazing group of people who I did the vast majority of activities with and to be honest I feel like I have known them for years. We picked up and hit it off so quickly and naturally that nothing else mattered whether it be age, relationship status, or anything else. And that was probably the single most amazing thing about this trip. To connect with “The Group” so genuinely was really my favorite part of the whole trip. Without it who knows what my Flying Kiwi tour would have been like.

I am tired. Physically and emotionally. The tour was amazing and I wish I had done the full 28 days like most of the people were but it was such a whirlwind of stress, drama, adrenaline, and a plethora of other feelings that I am having a hard time putting it into words. So I will take my leave now in hopes that after sleep and a few hours to come to terms with what just happened to me I will be able to clarify and explain my New Zealand adventure.

As always, please do not worry about me. Yes, I am sad about leaving my friends and at the gnawing thought something with incredible potential was cut short. Yes, I miss everyone from back home terribly and can’t wait to talk to you. Yes, I am more tired than I can ever remember being before. Yes, I am having the absolute time of my life. Travel is amazing. It hurts to leave people and places, but if it didn’t hurt than it didn’t mean anything in the first place. And I would much rather cry than have nothing worth crying about. So don’t worry about me. I will be fine. This experience has left me with amazing friends and memories which will last much longer than the pangs of change and slight lonliness.

I love you all and thank you for your wishes, prayers, and support.

Doctor, thank you. Realism can wait, don’t you think?

 

Yours,

The Wanderer

Leave a Reply

