For You

“When you run for the moonlight to dance on a ray, and become what you knew to be true…”

This is a congratulations.

One thing that I have noticed since I have been living in Australia is that the people who I call my friends and family are truly extraordinary people. Not to say that I didn’t know this before I left for the other side of the world, but I have definitely become more aware of the awesome things they are doing in their lives. It is kind of like when you see a baby once a year; it always seems like the baby has done much more growing than a year should allow for and when you express this to someone who sees the baby on a more consistent basis they don’t understand because the change is much less evident to them. I am not there to come across my friends’ accomplishments on a gradual or daily basis. When I do get updates from the people in my life back in the States it is usually a flood of drama, awards, relationship changes, and drama. While the relationships and drama entertain me for a minute or two, hearing about everything that my friends are doing back in the States is what means most to me.

To my sister, Sara. I am so happy for you that you got out of that horrible painting and play job. I was truly worried you would throw a small child into a kiln and I find your new job at a travel agent much more appropriate. Hopefully you feel the same and are enjoying yourself. Also, don’t run into my car I have a baby on board.

This is a bit premature, but good luck  and congratulations to all those who are participating in the Derby marathon and mini-marathon in the morning. Whether you are running or walking and irregardless of distance I wish the best of luck to all of you. I feel like I can congratulate you before you even finish because you are already doing more than most of us (myself included) by signing up and getting up that early on a Saturday morning. Try not to poop your pants and enjoy your free beer when you cross the finish line!

Another premature congratulations goes to the Class of 2012 at Bellarmine University. I wish I could have been there for your last semester but want you to know I am still incredibly proud of all of you for sticking it out. I can only guess how tempting it was to drop out and join the circus, but you didn’t and now you get to use Derby as your own personal graduation celebration! Don’t all go running away from Louisville though because I still want to see you!

Congratulations to Ellie Schmidt, volleyball extraordinaire, on her acceptance for a job in Louisville! Not sure what it is exactly you will be doing but the 502 is glad you won’t be leaving.

I would also like to give a shout out to my Executive Board for next year’s Knights’ Nation. Alongside me next year on Knights’ will be Will Obert and Tyler Wobbrock as Vice President, Tom Milan as Finance, Stephanie Chalko as Campus Relations, Dylan Johnson as Community Relations, and last but not least Conrad Kresge as Public Relations. Congratulations to all of you and I am very excited to get to work with you.

The next person who I would like to congratulate is someone who is neither a best friend or a Bellarmine Knight but is special nonetheless. Her accomplishment is by far the most incredible though and I cannot express to her how excited I am for the adventure she is embarking on. Caitie Hone, you are a terrific-ly amazing person and your acceptance into the Peace Corps is nothing short of the chance of a lifetime. I have already personally congratulated you on this but thought that it was more than worth sharing with the few readers this blog does attract. I followed your application process the best I could and am so excited for you now that you have received your placement into Guinea. Not only will ‘your team’ conquer the world but you are going to do incredible things in an incredible part of the world and that is something very few people can say. Congratulations, Caitie.

To my sister in Brazil, Gio, congratulations on your leadership of a CISV village delegation to the Philippines. I am so incredibly jealous of you and cannot wait until I am in a position where I can lead again. Have an absolute blast 🙂

__

If you don’t see your name above and feel like you deserve to, that may be a sign that you need to improve your communication skills. So don’t comment or bitch about me not congratulating you on your life if you haven’t bothered to tell me what I should congratulate you on.

 

Leave a Reply

