Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger

I have finally caught the work-out bug again and it feels amazing. After burning myself out in Australia and not truly dedicating myself to a workout program for almost a year, I had gained 15 pounds and lost most of my strength (along with a heavy dose of self-esteem). I told myself that I was “fat and happy” and for awhile there I truly was, but I slowly began to realize that my energy was lower, my temper was faster to fire, and I just wasn’t feeling as fulfilled as I used to be. 

My half marathon in April was supposed to be what kick-started my training again but I threw training to the wind and didn’t dedicate myself to running the best race that I could. I ended up running 2:38 but had to walk an embarrassing amount and by the end every time my foot landed I could feel my legs shaking from the exertion. 

The difference between then and now is incredible. Graduation, early summer travels, a breakup and the convenience of a gym at my new job have motivated me to jump back into training.

Obviously weights were the first thing that I picked back up. It was what my training had been focused around for years and what I was comfortable with. While the gym in the office is limited, it has proven to be perfect for me to get back into a rhythm. After two months, I am happy to say that I can see improvements both physically and mentally. I won’t be winning any Mr. Olympia’s anytime soon, but I am excited to look at joining a more expansive gym and introducing the workout that I was doing while in Australia. 

But I didn’t stop there…

I am signed up for the Louisville Sport Commission’s Fall Runathon which consists of three races; a 5k, 10k, and half marathon. Spaced from September 21 to November 10, the LSC Fall Runathon is my motivation to stick to the training. So far I am in the third week of a twelve week running program that will set me up for what I am hoping to be a sub-two hour half marathon. 

I will follow that up by running the Spring Runathon (5k, 10k, 10 mile) at the beginning of the year and the Derby Marathon (all 26.2 miles of it) on April 19. 

So far, I feel great. I am bumped and bruised and sore from introducing cardio and weight lifting back into my lifestyle but I am really excited about the results that I am already seeing which only prove to motivate me more. 

I have 73 days until November 10 and my sub-two goal. See you at the finish line!

Leave a Reply

