2 years down, 3 years left

Ready to have your mind blown?

Two years ago today, I was on my flight to Australia.

It is so unfathomable to me that it has already been two years. I was 20, not entirely a bonafide adrenaline junkie, and was so far from the wanderlust-stricken state I find myself in today. I was also terrified.

Once of my most intense memories from the entire trip… shit from my entire life… is stepping out of the airport in Melbourne (which I then pronounced Mel-born). I think I walked in and out of that welcome terminal four or five times in a span of 20 minutes. Each time I would venture further than I did last time. Because, for whatever reason, leaving the airport made it real. When you’re in an airport you can be anywhere and (for the most part) everything is consistent. The language on the numerous coffee stands might change but they are still there every 10 feet, ya know? It is enough to give you that false sense of security that you in actuality aren’t completely alone on the other side of the world. But when you leave the airport that all goes away right quick. Of course now I yearn for that feeling, but two years ago it was the first time that I had ever really felt it.

But for every fiber of my being that was terrified, two were excited beyond measure.

Sitting here on my lunch writing this and looking back on everything that happened in those six months I can’t help but smile. Those were the best six months of my life. I met so many incredible people and every other week I was doing something that most people would describe as “once in a lifetime” things. There is some sadness there… for friendships that didn’t survive the time or distance, Kimchi Lunchbox not being in my belly, and being slightly underwhelmed at where I am right now… but so much genuine happiness from remembering that time. Sorta like a ‘only know you’ve been high when you’re feeling low’ kinda thing.

Australia pulls me up more then it gets me down though. My life was so incredible there and it motivates me to get back to that point.

However, I know now that it matters little where you are in this world if you are not with the right people. So I want to thank everyone who made Australia such an incredible experience. For some reason, almost all Tuesday nights are foggy but I think that is just a coincidence. Backpacking New Zealand, driving the Great Ocean Road, and diving the Barrier Reef would not have been the same without all of you.

I gave promised myself that I would be back within 5 years. Two of those have passed, so if anyone needs a travel buddy to the Land Down Unda in the next three years I am your guy!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

